Estonian EU external border programme

Cooperation with the Russian Federation is suspended.   

Estonia-Russia CBC Programme 2014-2020 supports cross-border projects implemented only in the Programme area (please see the area marked in green on map below).

The Programme area covers a total territory of 174,945,8 km2, of which 4,333,13 km2 forms the adjoining area. A total of 32,298 km2 of the area belongs to Estonia and 142 647,8 km2 to Russia.

The Programme area lies in the east of the Baltic Sea region and covers two distinct territories, namely the southern, northern, and eastern parts of Estonia and the north-western section of the Russian Federation, including the city of St. Petersburg.

Core regions
The Programme area includes the following NUTS III regions (the Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics) or their equivalents as core region:
Estonia: Kirde-Eesti, Lõuna-Eesti, Kesk-Eesti
Russia: St. Petersburg, Leningrad region, Pskov regions

Adjoining region
The Programme area includes Põhja-Eesti region (incl. Tallinn) in Estonia as an adjoining region (only under Thematic Objectives 1 – Business and SME development;  Thematic Objective 6 – Environmental protection, and climate change mitigation and adaptation; Thematic Objective 10 – Promotion of border management and border security, mobility and migration management).

Programme area (in blue)