Estonian EU external border programme


On 11 March 2020 the Joint Programming Committee (JPC) held its first meeting in Tallinn, Estonia. It has launched the preparation process of a new period of Estonia-Russia Cross Border Cooperation (CBC) Programme 2021-2027.

Agenda of the meeting, among others, covered the overview on state of play of EU regulations on Interreg NEXT* Strategic Programming 2021 – 2027 and Financing Agreement preparations  by representative of DG REGIO, discussions on Policy Objectives and Specific Objectives as well as approval of Rules of procedure of the JPC and time plan for programming.

The decision was made that in the future Programme the State Shared Service Centre (Estonia) will continue functions of Managing Authority and Joint Secretariat of Estonia-Russia programme 2021-2027 and the programme area remains the same as for the current programme.

JPC meeting was chaired by Mr Priidu Ristkok, the Head of Regional Development Department of the Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Estonia.

Due to coronavirus outbreak the Russian delegation, the JPC members from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Economic Development from Moscow and representatives of St.Petersburg and Leningrad Region were participating via videoconference.

JPC consists of equal number of nominated members representing national and regional level of the Republic of Estonia and the Russian Federation. Responsibility for coordinating and supervising the Programme preparation process relies on the Ministry of the Finance of the Republic of Estonia and the Ministry of Economic Development of the Russian Federation and is supported by DG REGIO and TESIM*.

Next meeting of the Joint Programming Committee is scheduled for the end of May in Estonia.

*Interreg NEXT (Neighbourhood External).
**TESIM is a technical assistance project which provides support and guidance to the implementation and management of ENI CBC programmes and is funded by EU.